L'ASSISTANT IV

Le système automatisé fournit l'expertise en matière de médication à l'endroit et au moment où elle est le plus nécessaire.

40 Million

Children present to the emergency department in North America every year

1.5 Million


Children are hurt by intravenous (IV) medication errors every year

1 in 3

Children are given an incorrect medication dosage while visiting the emergency department

Chaque année

Aux États-Unis, les médecins et les infirmières préparent 347 millions de doses de médicaments par voie intraveineuse (IV) dans le seul service des urgences. Étonnamment, la préparation des médicaments par voie intraveineuse reste très manuelle et sujette à des erreurs, ce qui coûte 15 milliards de dollars par an au système de santé américain.

Les patients pédiatriques

sont particulièrement touchés par ce problème puisque tous les médicaments sont basés sur le poids - à enfant différent, dose différente. Par conséquent, 35 % des enfants reçoivent la mauvaise dose de médicament par voie intraveineuse lorsqu'ils sont traités aux urgences, ce qui fait que 1,5 million d'enfants sont blessés par des médicaments intraveineux chaque année.

LA SOLUTION

Notre équipe a mis au point un dispositif qui automatise les principaux points douloureux de la préparation des médicaments intraveineux en pédiatrie, en évaluant automatiquement le poids et en préparant les médicaments. Cette solution peut contribuer à réduire les erreurs de 50 % et faire économiser aux hôpitaux jusqu'à 1,3 million de dollars par an.

Plus important encore

Plus important encore, cela garantit que tous les enfants sont traités selon les meilleures normes de soins.

Notre équipe procède actuellement au développement du MVP et teste notre solution dans notre institution partenaire, l'Hôpital de Montréal pour enfants.

The IV Assistant

NURA’s easy-to-use system provides medication expertise when it’s needed most

Building technology to innovative patient care

Each year

in the US, doctors and nurses prepare 347 million doses of intravenous (IV) medication in the emergency department alone1. Surprisingly, the preparation of IV medication is still highly manual and error-prone, costing the US healthcare system $15B annually.

Pediatric patients

are especially affected by this since all medications are weight-based – different child, different dose. As a result, 35% of children are given the wrong dose of IV medication when treated in the ER, which results in 1.5 million children hurt by IV medication every year.

SOLUTION

Our team has developed a device that automates the main pain points in pediatric IV medication preparation, automatically assessing the weight and preparing medication. This solution can help reduce errors by 50% and save hospitals up to $1.3M each year.

More importantly

More importantly, this ensures that all children are treated according to the best standard of care.

Our team is currently carrying out MVP development and testing our solution at our partner institution, the Montreal Children’s Hospital.

Reducing medication errors

in pediatric emergency care